Join In On The Action "Register Here" To View The Forums

Already a Member Login Here

Board index Forum Index
Dignitary

Post 27 Jan 2014, 8:05 pm

NWO 101

We are lucky enough to have an influx of several new players for this run of NWO. The good news is that this should freshen up the game for those of us who have been around the block a few times. The bad news is that there will be a definite gap of game knowledge between the veterans and the new guys.

To help bridge that gap, I’ve put together a briefing of sorts. It will be fairly high-level in nature but will give a number of things to consider when approaching the game. It is absolutely not comprehensive. It is coming from my perspective only. While I have plenty of experience and knowledge about NWO, I can tell you with absolute certainty that other players bring different approaches to this game. So don’t take this document as the bible of how to play NWO! It won’t give you a victory, that will be up to you, but it should give you a good start and at least a few ideas of forming a strategy.

Starting the Game

NWO is played on two different levels: regionally and globally. Your first priority is to secure the safety and growth of your country. This will come down to your regional diplomatic efforts, as with any other game of diplomacy.

We all know the saying, “The enemy of my enemy is my friend.” Well, in NWO, you can extend that saying threefold. The inclusion of colonies means your immediate neighbours are also the neighbours of someone across the map. Argentina is next to the Falkland Islands, which is British (unless you ask Buenos Aires). Vietnam is close to Singapore, which is also British. Thus, Argentina and Vietnam have a common neighbour and have immediate things to talk about.